skip to main content

Insurance and Reinsurance

Shipman & Goodwin’s Insurance and Reinsurance practice litigates and counsels insurers on a broad array of issues ranging from hazardous product and environmental insurance coverage issues to complex bankruptcy matters and claims of bad faith. Our multi-jurisdictional experience allows us to carefully navigate through the web of laws and regulations imposed on insurers, while at the same time, offering consistent cost-effective legal solutions that protect the client’s brand.

Our attorneys have been involved in many of the cutting-edge developments in these areas of law. Our practice involves litigation at both the trial and appellate courts through out the United States, as well as arbitration, and client counseling and advice regarding a broad spectrum of coverage and reinsurance issues. We have extensive experience in representing insurers in many large, complex declaratory judgment actions regarding asbestos and other product claims, environmental and hazardous waste claims, and construction defect claims.   

Attorneys

Michele Backus Konigsberg
Partner
mbackus@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7757
Washington, DC Office
Alison P. Baker
Associate
abaker@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4887
Washington, DC Office
Peter G. Berris
Associate
pberris@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7788
Washington, DC Office
Donald C. Brown, Jr.
Of Counsel
dbrownjr@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7763
Washington, DC Office
James G. Christiansen
Counsel
jchristiansen@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7755
Washington, DC Office
Timothy R. Dingilian
Partner
tdingilian@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7779
Washington, DC Office
Sarah E. Dlugoszewski
Associate
sdlugo@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5103
Hartford Office
Christopher R. Drury
Partner
cdrury@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5017
Hartford Office
Katherine M. Hance
Counsel
khance@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7767
Washington, DC Office
Sara K. Hunkler
Associate
shunkler@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7759
Washington, DC Office
George C. Jepsen
Partner
gjepsen@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5915
Hartford Office
James T. Joyce
Associate
jjoyce@goodwin.com
860-251-5068
Hartford Office
Joshua P. Mayer
Associate
jmayer@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7758
Washington, DC Office
Myles Morrison
Associate
mmorrison@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4889
Washington, DC Office
Mark K. Ostrowski
Partner
mostrowski@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5634
Hartford Office
Edward B. Parks II
Partner
eparks@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7753
Washington, DC Office
Perry Zinn Rowthorn
Partner
prowthorn@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5955
Hartford Office
James P. Ruggeri
Partner
jruggeri@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7752
Washington, DC Office
Miranda H. Turner
Associate
mturner@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4884
Washington, DC Office
Joshua D. Weinberg
Partner
jweinberg@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7754
Washington, DC Office
Abigail W. Williams
Associate
awilliams@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7784
Washington, DC Office

News

August 15, 2019  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 43 Attorneys
April 29, 2019  Chambers Recognizes 18 Attorneys as Leaders in Their Field
April 19, 2019  DC Attorneys Honored by 2019 Super Lawyers
November 1, 2018  Shipman & Goodwin LLP Ranked Among 2019 "Best Law Firms"
August 15, 2018  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 43 Firm Attorneys
May 3, 2018  Chambers Recognizes 23 Attorneys as Leaders in Their Field
April 23, 2018  DC Attorneys Honored by 2018 Super Lawyers
November 1, 2017  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2018 "Best Law Firms"
August 15, 2017  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 43 Firm Attorneys
May 26, 2017  Chambers Recognizes 22 as Leaders in Their Field
April 24, 2017  DC Attorneys Honored by 2017 Super Lawyers
November 1, 2016  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2017 "Best Law Firms"
October 18, 2016  CT Attorneys Recognized as 2016 Super Lawyers
August 15, 2016  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 39 Firm Attorneys
August 3, 2016  Jim Ruggeri and Ed Parks Now Fellows of American College of Coverage and Extracontractual Counsel
May 31, 2016  Chambers Recognizes 22 as Leaders in Their Field
November 2, 2015  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2016 "Best Law Firms"
October 19, 2015  CT Attorneys Recognized as 2015 Super Lawyers
May 19, 2015  Chambers Recognizes 23 as Leaders in Their Field
November 3, 2014  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2015 "Best Law Firms"
May 23, 2014  Chambers Recognizes 24 as Leaders in their Field
November 1, 2013  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2014 "Best Law Firms"
April 29, 2013  DC Attorneys Honored by 2013 Super Lawyers
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP 2019. All Rights Reserved.