skip to main content

Commercial Finance

Lawyers in the Commercial Finance practice represent lenders, trustees, and borrowers in secured and unsecured financing of all types of commercial real estate and corporate financing, including:

  • business credit transactions
  • secured and unsecured loan transactions
  • revolving lines of credit
  • term loans
  • asset based lending
  • mortgage loans
  • leasehold mortgages
  • equipment leasing
  • non-standard collateral financing
  • general obligation, industrial revenue and tax increments financing
  • debt restructures, workouts and other post default transactions

Our clients include national, regional, and local lending institutions, including banks, insurance companies, leasing companies, finance companies, hedge funds, and other independent non-regulated entities, various state and local governmental entities and agencies, indenture trustees, retailers, manufacturers, hospitals and other health care providers, real estate developers and other business entities.

Attorneys

Carolyn J. Cavolo
Counsel
ccavolo@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8153
Stamford Office
Greenwich Office
Michael T. Conway
Partner
mconway@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3011
New York Office
Christine M. Donnelly
Associate
cdonnelly@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5098
Hartford Office
Scott M. Gerard
Partner
sgerard@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8195
Stamford Office
New York Office
Robert E. Grady
Partner
rgrady@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5084
Hartford Office
Donald R. Gustafson
Partner
dgustafson@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8103
Stamford Office
Barry C. Hawkins
Of Counsel
bhawkins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8104
Stamford Office
Katie P. Kasinskas
Partner
kkasinskas@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8165
Stamford Office
Miriam Godfrey Lewis
Associate
mlewis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5007
Hartford Office
Matthew J. Monteith
Partner
mmonteith@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5784
Hartford Office
Kathleen M. Mylod
Partner
kmylod@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5332
Hartford Office
Kent S. Nevins
Partner
knevins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8163
Stamford Office
New York Office
William G. Rock
Partner
wrock@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5121
Hartford Office
James C. Schulwolf
Partner
jschulwolf@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5949
Hartford Office
J. Dormer Stephen
Partner
dstephen@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2803
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
Kelly A. Trahan
Counsel
ktrahan@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8198
Stamford Office
New York Office
Suzanne W. Warnery
Associate
swarnery@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5172
Hartford Office
Michael L. Widland
Partner
mwidland@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8101
Stamford Office
Lisa M. Zana
Partner
lzana@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8171
Stamford Office
New York Office

Experience

Private Equity & Mezzanine Finance
Pre-Development Financing of the Motion Picture entitled "Sin City 2"
Other
$28+ Million Customized Secured Lender Environmental Insurance Policy Permits National Bank to Close Construction Loan
$62 Million Syndicated Credit Facility
$75 Million Credit Facility
$46 Million Term Loan to Nursing Home
$38 Million Asset-Based Line of Credit
$30 Million in Mezzanine Debt
$36 Million in CMBS Loans
$71 Million CMBS Workout
$6.8 Million Term Loan to Micro-Grid
$3.9 Million Loan to Hydroelectric Facility
Sale of $43 Million in Commercial Loans
Sale of $92 Million in HELOCs
$25 Million Credit Facility
$15 Million Term Loan
$15 Million Asset-Based Line of Credit
$31.7 Million in Mezzanine Debt
$4.7 Million Term Loan to Nursing Home
$4.5 Million Asset-Based Line of Credit
Closing of Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Loan Originations
Closing of Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Financing Loan Origination
Finance and Development Counsel for New York City Developers and Investors
$26 Million Former G. Fox Building
$65,000,000 Structured Financing
Workout and Restructuring Obligations of a Commercial Printer
Restructure of Company's Existing Obligations
$1,000,000,000 Repurchase Arrangement
General Outside Counsel for Major Equipment Financing Company
$9,500,000 Loan to Investment Management Company Officers for Company Stock Purchase
$55,000,000 Loan Facilities to an Art Gallery and an Art Investment Fund
Restructuring of Mortgage Loans on Four Contiguous Properties
Subleasing of Commercial Space in Stamford, CT Office Towers
$42,000,000 Financing of National Furniture Distributor
Closing of Secondary Market Commercial Real Estate Mortgage Loan Acquisition
Structuring and Negotiation of Master Lease for the Development of University Housing in Downtown Stamford, CT
Several Hundred Million Dollars Financing for 40 Rail Cars
$400,000,000 Project Financing for Fortune 500 Company
Steering Committee for Multi-Lender Workout of Obligations
Closing of Secondary Market Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Loan Acquisition
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP, 2019. All Rights Reserved.