skip to main content

Insurance and Reinsurance

Shipman & Goodwin’s Insurance and Reinsurance practice litigates and counsels insurers on a broad array of issues ranging from hazardous product and environmental insurance coverage issues to complex bankruptcy matters and claims of bad faith. Our multi-jurisdictional experience allows us to carefully navigate through the web of laws and regulations imposed on insurers, while at the same time, offering consistent cost-effective legal solutions that protect the client’s brand.

Our attorneys have been involved in many of the cutting-edge developments in these areas of law. Our practice involves litigation at both the trial and appellate courts through out the United States, as well as arbitration, and client counseling and advice regarding a broad spectrum of coverage and reinsurance issues. We have extensive experience in representing insurers in many large, complex declaratory judgment actions regarding asbestos and other product claims, environmental and hazardous waste claims, and construction defect claims.   

Attorneys

Michele L. Backus
Partner
mbackus@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7757
Washington, DC Office
Joseph A. Bailey III
Partner
jbailey@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7782
Washington, DC Office
Alison P. Baker
Associate
abaker@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4887
Washington, DC Office
Michelle Morris Beecy
Associate
mbeecy@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7763
Washington, DC Office
James G. Christiansen
Counsel
jchristiansen@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7755
Washington, DC Office
Sarah E. Dlugoszewski
Staff Attorney
sdlugo@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5103
Hartford Office
Christopher R. Drury
Partner
cdrury@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5017
Hartford Office
Katherine M. Hance
Associate
khance@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7767
Washington, DC Office
John C. Hockenbury
Partner
jhockenbury@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7779
Washington, DC Office
Joshua E. Holt
Associate
jholt@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4893
Washington, DC Office
James T. Joyce
Associate
jjoyce@goodwin.com
860-251-5068
Hartford Office
Alexander R. Karam
Associate
akaram@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7781
Washington, DC Office
Corinne O. Lane
Associate
clane@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7780
Washington, DC Office
Charles E. Leasure
Partner
cleasure@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7774
Washington, DC Office
Douglas M. Mangel
Partner
dmangel@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7756
Washington, DC Office
Nena E. Mashaw
Associate
nmashaw@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7771
Washington, DC Office
Joshua P. Mayer
Associate
jmayer@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7758
Washington, DC Office
Janet R. McFadden
Counsel
jmcfadden@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7768
Washington, DC Office
Alison M. Miller
Associate
amiller@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7759
Washington, DC Office
Myles Morrison
Associate
mmorrison@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4889
Washington, DC Office
Mark K. Ostrowski
Partner
mostrowski@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5634
Hartford Office
Edward B. Parks II
Partner
eparks@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7753
Washington, DC Office
James P. Ruggeri
Partner
jruggeri@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7752
Washington, DC Office
Ingrid A. Smith
Associate
ismith@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7797
Washington, DC Office
Miranda H. Turner
Associate
mturner@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4884
Washington, DC Office
Joshua D. Weinberg
Partner
jweinberg@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7754
Washington, DC Office
Abigail W. Williams
Associate
awilliams@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7784
Washington, DC Office
Julia C. Zajac
Associate
jzajac@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5692
Hartford Office
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP, 2017. All Rights Reserved.