skip to main content

Business and Finance

Shipman & Goodwin's business lawyers represent public and private companies, including businesses that are local, regional, national, and international in scope. Our clients include businesses at all stages of development, including start-up and emerging companies; closely held and family businesses; middle market companies; quasi-public agencies; and non-profit organizations.

Clients are engaged in private equity and venture capital, information technology and software, wireless technologies, telecommunications, e-business, manufacturing, distribution, banking, insurance, health care, specialty materials, real estate construction and development, transportation, retail and wholesale marketing, investment banking and advisory services, hedge fund investing, public utilities, professional and consulting services, and agricultural business.

Our team of over 50 attorneys provides a full range of services to our business clients, including corporate, securities, mergers and acquisitions, private equity, e-business, environmentaltax and contracting.

Our business lawyers pride themselves on giving practical, business-oriented and creative advice, with broad industry knowledge in those sectors in which our clients do business.

Attorneys

David O. Bigger
Associate
dbigger@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5203
Hartford Office
Peter J. Bilfield
Partner
pbilfield@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8151
Stamford Office
New York Office
Robert M. Borden
Partner
rmborden@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5823
Hartford Office
Danielle McGrath Braun
Associate
dbraun@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5787
Hartford Office
Donna L. Brooks
Partner
dbrooks@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5917
Hartford Office
Rebecca B. Brown
Partner
rbrown@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8196
Stamford Office
Julia R. Camarco
Associate
jcamarco@goodwin.com
860-251-5058
Hartford Office
Raymond J. Casella
Partner
rcasella@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5808
Hartford Office
Coleman H. Casey
Of Counsel
ccasey@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5112
Hartford Office
Carolyn J. Cavolo
Counsel
ccavolo@goodwin.com
(203) 863-6405
Greenwich Office
Stamford Office
Kimberly S. Cohen
Associate
kcohen@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5804
Hartford Office
Michael T. Conway
Partner
mconway@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3011
New York Office
Michael T. Cummings
Associate
mcummings@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8173
Stamford Office
Andrew N. Davis
Partner
adavis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5839
Hartford Office
Christine M. Donnelly
Associate
cdonnelly@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5098
Hartford Office
Stephen M. Forte
Counsel
sforte@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3015
New York Office
Michael J. Fritz
Partner
mfritz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5735
Hartford Office
New York Office
Jenna M. Gallagher
Associate
jgallagher@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5233
Hartford Office
Lisa Denise Gladke
Counsel
lgladke@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5925
Hartford Office
Steven M. Gold
Partner
sgold@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8102
Stamford Office
Ira H. Goldman
Partner
igoldman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5820
Hartford Office
Eric S. Goldstein
Partner
egoldstein@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5059
Hartford Office
Donald R. Gustafson
Partner
dgustafson@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8103
Stamford Office
Barry C. Hawkins
Partner
bhawkins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8104
Stamford Office
Catherine F. Intravia
Partner
cintravia@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5805
Hartford Office
Katie P. Kasinskas
Associate
kkasinskas@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8165
Stamford Office
Charles B. Kaufmann III
Partner
ckaufmann@goodwin.com
(203) 863-6402
Greenwich Office
Kathleen M. LaManna
Partner
klamanna@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5603
Hartford Office
John H. Lawrence
Partner
jlawrence@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5139
Hartford Office
Aaron D. Levy
Partner
alevy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5893
Hartford Office
Miriam Godfrey Lewis
Associate
mlewis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5007
Hartford Office
Alan E. Lieberman
Partner
alieberman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5801
Hartford Office
Matthew J. Monteith
Associate
mmonteith@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5784
Hartford Office
Jenna M. Montesano
Associate
jmontesano@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5151
Hartford Office
Scott L. Murphy
Partner
smurphy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5920
Hartford Office
Kathleen M. Mylod
Partner
kmylod@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5332
Hartford Office
Kent S. Nevins
Partner
knevins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8163
Stamford Office
New York Office
Nathan Z. Plotkin
Associate
NPlotkin@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5320
Hartford Office
Marie C. Pollio
Partner
mpollio@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5561
Hartford Office
Matthew D. Ritter
Counsel
mritter@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5092
Hartford Office
William G. Rock
Partner
wrock@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5121
Hartford Office
Louis B. Schatz
Partner
lschatz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5838
Hartford Office
New York Office
James C. Schulwolf
Partner
jschulwolf@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5949
Hartford Office
Stephen I. Siller
Partner
ssiller@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3012
New York Office
J. Dormer Stephen
Partner
dstephen@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2803
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
Michael L. Widland
Partner
mwidland@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8101
Stamford Office
Latonia C. Williams
Associate
lwilliams@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5037
Hartford Office
Lisa M. Zana
Partner
lzana@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8171
Stamford Office
New York Office

Experience

Corporate Counsel
506(c) General Solicitation - Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Medical Device Company
Investment Management
Representation of Quantitative Market-Neutral Fund
Mergers, Acquisitions & Joint Ventures
Acquisition of Telecommunications Company Based in the Midwest
Other
Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Arrakis Therapeutics
Successful Affiliation of Two Major Healthcare Organizations
Sale of Hydro Massage Equipment Manufacturer
Series A Preferred Stock Financing for Oncology Focused Biotechnology Company
Series A Preferred Stock Financing for Biopharmaceutical Company
Closing of Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Financing Loan Origination
Finance and Development Counsel for New York City Developers and Investors
Acquisition and Financing of Musculoskeletal Tissue Business
$41.6M Series B Financing for Arvinas
$40 Million Series C Financing of Protagonist Therapeutics, Inc.
Recapitalization for Construction Supply Industry Leader
Sale of Water-Activated Tape Dispenser Company
Unique Financing Structure for Clean Energy Program
$52 Million Syndicated Credit Facility Closing
Unique Renewable Energy Financing to Fund New CT Solar Lease Program
Strategic Investment and Merger for CyVek, Inc.
Aviation Component Manufacturer Section 363 Sale
Assumption of Control and Operation of Rentschler Field and the XL Center
$203 Million Financing for University Health Ambulatory Care Center
$18.6 Million Development of a Green Parking Facility
Acquisition, Financing and Development of Several Major Projects throughout the United States
Restructuring of Major Cultural Arts Organization
Series B Preferred Stock Financing of Onkos Surgical
Closing of Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Loan Originations
Acquisition of a $4.5 Million Mezzanine Loan
Acquisition of a $20 Million Subordinate Mortgage B Note
$10 Million Mezzanine Loan Origination Indirectly Secured by a Historic Property Leased by a University in Downtown Chicago
Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Dauntless Pharmaceuticals
Acquisition of a $10 Million Mezzanine Loan Indirectly Secured by Properties in the New York Metropolitan Area
Acquisition and Financing of New Corporate Headquarters for a New York Based Company
Senior Credit Facility Refinancing
Acquisition of Multiple Mezzanine Loans Related to Properties in New Orleans, Indianapolis and Milwaukee
Origination of a $10 Million Mezzanine Loan Related to a Hospitality Property in Virginia
Series E Preferred Stock Financing of ZipLine Medical
Closing of Secondary Market Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Loan Acquisition
Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Hyalex Orthopaedics
Acquisition of a $20 Million Mezzanine Loan Indirectly Secured by Properties in the Mid-Atlantic Region
Acquisition and Development of Jamaica, New York Hilton Hotel
$400 Million Joint Venture to Acquire Fee Interest in the "Lipstick Building"
Biotech Company Pioneers Technology For New Class of Drugs
Closing of Secondary Market Commercial Real Estate Mortgage Loan Acquisition
Acquisition of a $4.5 Million Subordinate Mortgage B Note and Origination of Related $5 Million Mezzanine Loan
Multi-Year Development of Major Manhattan Mixed-Use Properties

Events

September 19, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Overview of New Federal Partnership/LLC IRS Audit Legislation - What You Need to Know
June 28, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: The Lender Asked for What? Understanding Financing Documents From the Borrower's Perspective
June 21, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Contracting With Governmental Entities in Connecticut
June 7, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Boards of Directors and Advisory Boards - How They Work and How They Work for You
May 24, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Your Client, Customer or Business Partner Filed for Bankruptcy. What Should You Do Now?
May 9, 2017  Webinar: Negotiating a Successful Health Care Transaction
April 26, 2017  What You Need to Know to Negotiate a Successful Health Care Transaction
March 21, 2017  Structuring Loan Participation Agreements, Conducting Lender Due Diligence: Strategies for Lead Lenders and Participants to Minimize and Manage Risk of Participations and Sales
February 22, 2017  Webinar: Subordination and Intercreditor Agreements
February 15, 2017  UCC Secured Transactions - Drafting Legal Opinions for Article 9 Security Interests
January 26, 2017  Webinar: Finding Your Way Through the UCC3 Financing Fog
December 8, 2016  Webcast: Venture Funding Strategies for 2017: Surviving The Cautious Venture Capital Marketplace
September 28, 2016  Bioscience Investor Outlook: 2016 Trend Report and 2017 Projections
February, 16 2016  Capital Raising in the United States: The Do's and Don'ts on Solicitation Activities for Australian Fund Managers
February 11, 2016  CVG: Investor & Entrepreneur Network Event
January 28, 2016  Webinar: Getting the Money – Roadmap of a Financing Transaction
October 7, 2015  Aerospace and Manufacturing Forum
September 24, 2015  Data Security and Privacy Risk Management in a New World of Big Data Collection and Sharing
September 2, 2015  Webinar: Structuring Agent and Co-Lender Agreements in Multi-Lender Deals
August 27, 2015  Webinar: Delaware Corporate Law Essentials
March 31, 2015  4th Annual NYIC/CFA Joint Event
February 25, 2015  ACFA: Does Unitranche Mean Unity? Demystifying the Agreement Among Lenders
November 11-14, 2014  CFA: Playing in the Sandbox – Relationships and Key Issues Among Syndicate Banks and Agents
November 25, 2014  4th Annual Economic Forum
June 16, 2014  CBA: What Every Lawyer Should Know About Selling a Closely-Held Business -- Before It's Too Late
April 25 - April 26, 2014  International Association of Investment Bankers Conference
April 23, 2014  Exit Strategies for Founders
January 28, 2014  Exit Strategies for Founders
October 16, 2013  Exit Strategies for Founders
April 26-28, 2013  Stamford Startup Weekend
May 9, 2012  Strategies for Business Transitions in Today's Economy
March 30 - April 1, 2012  Startup Weekend Stamford
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP, 2017. All Rights Reserved.